8 Simple Steps To Practice Chakra Meditation

In the Indian yogic system, the seven chakras are the centers in our bodies in which energy flows through. The meaning of the word chakra in Sanskrit is a wheel. However, chakras are actually junction points where three energy streams meet. So technically, a chakra is more of a triangle.

Blocked energy in the seven chakras can often lead to various forms of illness, so it’s important to keep them in harmony. The main purpose of working with the chakras is to create wholeness within yourself. By doing this, you bring the various aspects of your consciousness from the physical to the spiritual, into a harmonious relationship. Chakra meditation is a simple practice that anyone can do to bring more positivity and balance into their life. Here are 8 easy steps you can follow to practice chakra meditation.

Step 1

Start by sitting a comfortable position, preferably cross legged on the floor. Keep your spine erect but not stiff. The begin by focusing on each part of your body starting with your feet and work your way up. As you do this, have that part of the body relax and let the stress melt away.

Step 2

The next step is to focus your attention on your breath. Without forcing yourself, allow your breathing to be steady and deep. Don’t try to control your mind when it wanders. Become aware of the wandering and bring it back to the breath. Maintain a focus on each inhalation and exhalation you take. Feel the air entering into your lungs and passing into the bloodstream. When you inhale, visualize your breath nourishing each and every cell in your body. As you exhale, feel the toxins being expelled from your body with each breath.

Step 3

Slowly move your attention to your heart and then become aware of your heartbeat. Feel how all the parts of your body work together in complete harmony. See how the breath sustains all these parts and the body as a whole. Become aware of how the breath is the life-giving force of the entire organism which is the body.

Step 4

Next, imagine a life-giving energy that you are breathing in along with the air. Think of this energy as a yellowish orange color. Let this energy envelop your whole body and the aura that surrounds you. As this energy infuses with your aura, imagine your aura growing stronger and brighter. Feel the energy charging your entire body. This step should be done gradually but imagining the aura getting brighter slowly like rotating a dimmer so that the bulb glows brighter.

Step 5

You now move to the chakras and begin with energizing one after the other. Start with the root chakra in the lower back. Imagine a clockwise swirl of energy and the energy you breathe in feeds this swirl and makes it stronger and brighter. Next, imagine an energy rising from the earth and adding to the swirl at the root chakra.

Step 6

The next step is to move up to the sacral chakra and slowly moving up from there to the solar plexus chakra, heart chakra, throat chakra, head chakra and finally the crown chakra. Infuse each chakra with the life-giving energy. Take your time to energize each chakra. It’s all right if you need to spend more time on a particular chakra. But always move from the bottom to the top chakra.

Step 7

When all your chakras have been energized, visualize all the chakras at once being feed by this energy coming in from the breath and up from the earth. You should be seeing yourself exuding an aura of bright light that is clear and charged with the life-giving energy.

Step 8

In the last step of chakra meditation, you slowly open our eyes and relax a couple minutes with your eyes open. Become aware of your body and the new energy that’s flowing through it. Feel the energy empowering you. Practice this meditation for 15 – 30 minutes in each sitting.