Understanding Ayurveda Sub Doshas

Understanding Ayurveda Sub Doshas
Understanding Ayurveda Sub Doshas

The natural defense mechanism of the body works best when the doshas are in right balance. Particular type of Dosha alone or in combination can be dominant in every individual right from one’s birth and also one’s way of living has effect on the dosha balance influenced by the lifestyle factors which involves diet, physical work, stress etc.

Ayurveda Sub Doshas

Vata Dosha

Vata represents the elements air and space and helps in all body momentum. It is considered as the key dosha among the three as it is capable to move on its own and is responsible for moving Pitta and Kapha from their centres. Psychologically, Vata governs communication, creativity, flexibility, and thought process.


The 5 Sub Doshas of Vata are:

1. Prana Vata: It is located in brain, heart and respiratory system and it governs the respiration and perception through the senses. Imbalance of Prana Vata leads to anxiety, insomnia, neurological disorders, Asthma and other respiratory disorders.

2. Udana Vata: It is located in throat region and is responsible for speech, expression, enthusiasm etc. The imbalance of Udana vata leads to disorder in speech, dry cough, sore throat, tonsillitis, fatigue etc.


3. Samana Vata: It is located in stomach and intestine region and governs peristaltic movement in digestion. The imbalance of Samana vata leads to improper digestion, gas, diarrhoea etc.

4. Vyana Vata: It is located in heart and circulatory system and governs blood circulation and rhythm of heart. Imbalance of Vyana vata leads to high blood pressure, irregular heart rhythm, stress related nervous disorder.


5. Apana Vata: It is located in pelvic region and governs impulses related to urination, elimination, menstruation etc. Imbalance of Apana vata leads to constipation, intestinal cramps, menstrual disorder, and prostate diseases.

Pitta Dosha

Pitta represents the elements fire and water and is the energy related to digestion and metabolism in body with the help of organic acids, enzymes, hormones and bile. Psychologically, Pitta governs joy, courage, willpower, anger, jealousy etc.


The 5 sub Doshas of pitta include:

1. Pachaka Pitta: Located in stomach and small intestine and governs digestion of food to break as nutrients and waste products. The imbalance of pachaka pitta leads to heartburn, stomach acidity, ulcers etc.


2. Ranjaka Pitta: Located in liver, gall bladder and spleen and governs formation of blood cells and gives color to them. The imbalance of Ranjaka Pitta leads to anaemia, Jaundice and other blood disorders.

3. Sadhaka Pitta: Located in heart and governs emotion such as memory, contentment etc. The imbalance of Sadhaka Pita leads to memory loss, heart diseases, emotional disturbance.


4. Alochaka Pitta: Located in eyes and governs visual perception. The imbalance of Alochaka Pitta leads to disorders related to eyes.

5. Bhrajaka Pitta: Located in skin and governs complexion, pigmentation and temperature of skin. The imbalance of Bhrajaka Pitta leads to skin rashes, acne and other skin disorders.


Kapha Dosha

Kapha represents the elements earth and water and gives strength and support both physically and psychologically. It helps to fight diseases and promotes healing process. It gives firmness to joints by providing lubrication. Psychologically, Kapha governs love, patience, forgiveness, greed, attachment etc.

The various sub Doshas include:

1. Kledaka Kapha: Located in stomach and it governs moistening of stomach lining which is essential for digestion. The imbalance in Kledaka Kapha leads to impaired digestion.

2. Avalambhaka kapha: Located in chest, heart and back and provides strength to back, heart and chest. The imbalance of Avalambhaka Kapha leads to chest congestion, Heart diseases and low back pain.

3. Bodhaka Kapha: Located in tongue, mouth and throat and governs the taste and saliva secretion. The imbalance of bodhaka kapha leads to impairment of taste buds and salivary glands.

4. Tarpaka Kapha: Located in head, sinus and cerebrospinal fluid and governs nourishment of senses and motor organs. The imbalance of Tarpaka Kapha leads to sinusitis, hay fever, general dullness of senses.

5. Shelashaka Kapha: Located in joints and governs lubrication of all joints. The imbalance of shelashaka kapha leads to loose watery joints and causes joint disorders.