Reflexology: Massaging Points On Your Feet Improves Health

Reflexology: Massaging Points On Your Feet Improves Health

If you’re suffering from a terrible neck pain, pressing the area between your big toe and the ball of your feet can help ease the pain. Sounds unbelievable, doesn’t it? But it’s true. This form of healing is called reflexology.

Reflexology is a therapeutic method of relieving pain and improving the health of the entire body by stimulating pressure points that are located on the palms and feet. Most people avail the services of a professional reflexologist. But, even you can heal yourself using this technique if you know where the pressure points are situated.


The palms and the soles of the feet are divided into specific zones or reflex areas that correspond to all the glands, organs, parts and systems of the body. Applying pressure to these points using the specific thumb, finger and hand techniques results in many positive physiological changes that can heal many ailments.

Reflexology enables you to target specific points on your body by using the same principles used in acupressure. Here, we look at the various pressure points located on the soles of our feet.


Benefits Of Reflexology

Reflexology is about massaging specific points on your palms and soles

Reflexology not only helps in treating or curing certain ailments but benefits healthy people too. Major benefits of reflexology include,

  • Accelerates recovery from injuries
  • Stimulates nerve function
  • Treats sleep disorders
  • Cleans urinary tract
  • Reduces depression
  • Prevents migraines
  • Boosts circulation
  • Increases energy
  • Eliminates toxins
  • Relieves pain

Our feet is divided into 5 zones, with each zone corresponding to specific areas of the body and the organs located in the area. The pressure points of some individual organs may be present only on one foot. For paired organs, such as eyes or ears, the pressure points are corresponding to that particular side of the feet. The picture above helps you understand this better.

1. First Zone

The first zone is connected to the eyes and the pituitary gland


The first zone begins from the tips of the toes and extends to the halfway point of the balls of your feet. The reflections of paired organs, like the eyes, are situated respectively on the right and left foot. The central part of the big toe is connected to the pituitary gland. The tip of the middle toe corresponds to the head and the brain. The part just below this is related to the teeth and sinuses. gently applying pressure on these points using your finger helps relieve pain.

2. Second Zone

The second zone corresponds to organs like heart, lungs, and the thyroid glands


The second zone starts from the halfway point of the balls of your feet and extends till the arch of your feet. The corresponding spots on the right and left foot differ. For instance, since the human heart is located on the left side of the body, the pressure point for the heart region is on the left foot. The lungs, heart, thyroid and the parathyroid glands are connected to this zone.

3. Third Zone

The third zone is related to the liver, stomach, and the kidneys


The third zone begins from the arch of your feet till the halfway mark where the arch ends. This zone corresponds to vital organs such as the liver, stomach, spleen, pancreas, kidneys and the gall bladder. gently massaging on the particular pressure points stimulates these organs and helps relieve pain.

4. Fourth Zone

The fourth zone corresponds to the intestines and the colon


The fourth zone begins where the third zone ends and almost reaches till the heels. The major organs related to this zone are the intestines, colon, appendix, hip joints, and the bladder. The pressure points in this zone on both feet are quite similar and are connected to the same organs on both the feet.

5. Fifth Zone

The fifth zone is connected to the lower back, knee, and the genitals

The fifth zone is the heel part of your feet. The number of organs corresponding to this zone is relatively less. The lower back or the gluteal area, knee, sacrum, genitals, and the sciatic nerve are the major points in this zone.